PDC World Cup of Darts Broadcast RF


Broadcast RF will be “darting” around the UK and Ireland over the next few months, providing 2x HD Radio cameras as they cover the Premier League Darts during the months of February to May.

The tournament began on the 9th February at the M.E.N Arena in Manchester with the 8 competitors battling it out. The PDC’s top four players following the World Darts Championship on January 3rd qualified to compete in this years Premier League and will be joined by four wild card selections. Two of these being chosen by the PDC and the other two being chosen by Sky Sports. The line-up was confirmed on January 3rd 2012. Andy Hamilton and Kevin Painter will make their debuts as wildcard entries for England, Simon Whitlock for Australia and Raymond van Barneveld for the Netherlands. These four wild cards will be joining James Wade, Gary Anderson, Adrian Lewis and Phil Taylor for this year’s Premier League Darts.

The format will be a double round robin tournament with the top 4 finishers moving on to the play-offs. Each league match will be played over 14 legs. If one of the players wins his eighth leg before the 14th leg, no further legs will be played after this point. Two points will be awarded for a win and one point awarded for a draw.

Andrew Lewis and Phil Taylor kicked off the competition on Thursday night at the Manchester Arena with a thrilling draw, with Andy Hamilton and Kevin Painter making their winning debuts. The evening started off with Andy Hamilton defeating 2009 World Champion James Wade and Kevin Painter beating the reigning champion, Gary Anderson. The evening continued with Adrian Lewis and Phil Taylor finishing with a thrilling draw.

  • Copyright Broadcast RF 2013