• Home
  • NEWS
  • Sports Personality of the Year 2015

Sports Personality of the Year 2015

Sports Personality of the Year 2015

For the second time in three years, Andy Murray has been voted as the BBC Sports Personality of the Year with an astounding 361,446 votes. That’s an impressive 83,093 more than the next closest candidate, Kevin Sinfield.

Accepting his trophy from Irish boxing legend Barry McGuigan on Sunday night, in front of a sell-out audience of 7,500 at the SSE Arena in Belfast, the tennis sensation showed his gratitude in saying, “Thank you very much. I didn’t expect this. I dedicate my life to this sport and I work extremely hard every day to make you proud”.

Broadcast RF proud to have contributed in total seven HD radio camera systems, consisting of 3 steadicams, 3 handheld cameras & a pedestal RF camera, all working inside the arena and backstage.

With a standing ovation and the biggest cheers of the night, Michael O’Neill was presented as the Coach of the year after leading Northern Ireland to UEFA Euro 2016, their first major finals for 30 years.

The 2015 Lifetime Achievement went to AP McCoy, a Twenty-time champion jump jockey who retired in April after a record-breaking career.

Former pentathlete and 1972 Sports Personality of the Year winner, Dame Mary Peters presented Britain’s tennis captain, Leon Smith with the Team of the Year award on behalf of his entire team.

  • Copyright Broadcast RF 2013